Board of Advisors

Board of Advisors


Mr. Wayne P. Yetter

Advisory Board Member

Wayne Yetter had a 30-year career in the pharmaceutical industry and held executive positions at Pfizer, Merck, Astra-Merck (now AstraZeneca) and Novartis. His roles included President and Chief Executive Officer of Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation, the US division of Novartis AG, Vice President, Marketing Operations (global) and Vice President, Far East and Pacific at Merck and founding Chief Executive Officer of Astra-Merck. He also served as Chief Operating Officer of IMS Health, a market research data company from 1999 until 2000, when he became Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Synavant, Inc. (a Nasdaq listed spin-out of IMS) that was acquired by Dendrite International in 2003. Mr. Yetter then served as Chief Executive Officer of Verispan LLC, a Joint venture of McKesson and Quintiles and leading provider of healthcare information and marketing services to the pharmaceutical industry, from 2005 to 2008. Verispan was acquired by SDI Health and later merged into IMS. Most recently, Mr. Yetter was Chairman of the Board of NuPathe Inc. that was acquired by TEVA in early 2014. He serves as a director of InfuSystem Holdings, Inc.(INFU), and Special Diversified Opportunities Inc. (SDOI) a shell company remaining after the sale of assets of Strategic Diagnostics. (SDIX). Previously he served as Chairman of Noven Pharmaceuticals, Chairman of Transkaryotic Therapies, and Lead Independent Director of Matria Healthcare (each of these companies was acquired). He served on the Executive Committee of PhRMA, the pharmaceutical industry association, from 1997-1999. Mr. Yetter holds a B.A. in Biology from Wilkes University and an M.B.A from Bryant University.


Dr. Stephen Silberstein

MD, Advisory Board Member

Stephen D. Silberstein, MD, is Professor of Neurology and Director of the Jefferson Headache Center at Thomas Jefferson University. He is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians, the American Academy of Neurology, and the American Headache Society. He has served the American Headache Society as President, Treasurer, and Board of Directors member. He has served on the Publications, Scientific, and Education Committees of the American Headache Society and was Co-chairman of the Annual Scientific Meeting. Dr. Silberstein is an active member of the American Academy of Neurology and is Co-director of the national and international Headache Guideline Project, in cooperation with the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research. He was the Chairman of the International Headache Society meeting in Philadelphia in 2009. He is Chairman of the headache research group of the World Federation of Neurology.
Dr. Silberstein received his medical degree from the University of Pennsylvania. After completing a fellowship in neurology at the National Hospital for Nervous Diseases in London, Dr. Silberstein served as a Pharmacology Research Associate in the Toxicology Laboratory of Clinical Science at the National Institutes of Mental Health, and completed a neurology residency at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania.
Dr. Silberstein is the Senior Editor of the 8th edition of Wolff’s Headache and Other Head Pain, Associate Editor of Cephalalgia and CNS Drugs, and a present or prior member of the Editorial Board of Headache; Cephalalgia; Acta Neurologica Scandinavica; Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery & Psychiatry; and Topics in Pain Management. He is an ad hoc reviewer for many publications, including The New England Journal of Medicine; Brain, The Lancet, JAMA, Mayo Clinic Proceedings, Annals of Neurology, and Neurology.
Dr. Silberstein has more than 300 publications to his credit. He lectures extensively on the pathogenesis, neurobiology, diagnosis, and treatment of headache.


Dr. Frederick Freitag

DO, Advisory Board Member

Dr. Freitag is currently on the Board of Directors of the National Headache Foundation, position he held since 1993. Dr. Freitag is also the director of the Headache Medicine program and UCNS Headache Medicine Fellowship at Froedtert Hospital and the Medical College of Wisconsin where he is an Associate Professor in the Department of Neurology.
He previously held the same positions at Baylor University Medical Center in Dallas Texas where he led the development of the comprehensive headache treatment program between 2010 and 2013.
For 27 years he was affiliated with the Diamond Headache Clinic and inpatient treatment program where he was co-director at the time of his leaving. He was responsible for clinical and basic science research there for 24 years. Among the studies, he led a study of genetics of histamine in cluster headache and clinical outcome studies of its use in cluster headache. He was instrumental in the development of the headache medicine fellowship in conjunction with Loyola University of Chicago. He held clinical teaching appointments over the years at Midwestern University, University of Chicago and Rosalind Franklin University.
He received his bachelor of science in Biochemistry from the University of Wisconsin and his DO degree from the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine in 1979. His residency in Family Medicine was coupled with additional training in headache medicine at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation in 1981. He is certified in Family Medicine and holds a Certificate of Added Qualification in Headache Management from the National Board for Certification in Headache Management. He is one of only 290 physicians who have subspecialty certification for Headache Medicine from United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties. He is a Fellow of the American Headache Society. He has been a member of the American Headache Society since his 3rd year of medical school.
He has held numerous posts in professional organization including chairing committees of the American Headache Society, American Osteopathic Association, and the American Society for Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics.
He has conducted clinical and basic science research on a variety of topics and has published over a 180 articles in the peer reviewed literature as well as having contributed to over 20 textbooks on headache and its treatment and has been primary investigator on over 200 clinical trials. He has presented his findings at numerous meetings worldwide and lectured on several occasions at the National Institutes of Health.


Dr. Milton Grannatt, PhD

Advisory Board Member

Dr. Grannatt retired September 2012 after 25 years in the global pharmaceuticals industry. He was Vice President of Global Business Development and Licensing at Novartis. Prior to Novartis, he held senior positions at Sterling Winthrop and Lex Service, an acquisitive, diversified UK-based company. Additionally, Dr. Grannatt has an extensive deal sheet experience.
Dr. Grannatt currently serves as an outside Director of SymBio Pharmaceuticals Limited, a publicly-traded Japanese pharmaceutical company; a member of the advisory boards of VOX Telehealth and BioHealthonomics Inc; and an advisor to selected other biotech companies. In addition, he is a member of the Board of Governors for Certified Licensing Professionals, and is a lecturer in economics at Princeton’s Evergreen Forum.
Dr. Grannatt received his undergraduate degree and PhD in economics from Lehigh University.